Holding a Shield and Melee Weapon in the Same Hand

Conversations about the rules for Shadow Accord. These can get very technical.
Post Reply
User avatar
JaggedJackal
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:47 pm

Holding a Shield and Melee Weapon in the Same Hand

Post by JaggedJackal » Thu May 10, 2018 12:44 am

Another player mentioned before the last game that it is against the rules to hold a shield and melee weapon in the same hand. I don't disagree with this ruling but I don't see it mentioned in the rules or errata anywhere. Probably within the shield section it can say that you cannot hold another melee weapon in the same hand than is wielding a shield.

The other option of course is don't mention it and if someone can physically do it to allow them too, but that goes against this last ruling they heard.
User avatar
Julian
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:20 am
Active Character(s): Robin Ó Meadhra
-Silent Legion Chanteur

Re: Holding a Shield and Melee Weapon in the Same Hand

Post by Julian » Mon May 14, 2018 11:47 pm

Hi! We're currently discussing. This one might have some crossover with Safety as well, so we want to take the time to make sure everyone's on the same page.

Thank you for your patience!
~Hope will never be silent.~
User avatar
JaggedJackal
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 8:47 pm

Re: Holding a Shield and Melee Weapon in the Same Hand

Post by JaggedJackal » Wed May 16, 2018 3:36 am

Thank you for the response!
User avatar
Jay
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:36 pm

Re: Holding a Shield and Melee Weapon in the Same Hand

Post by Jay » Fri May 25, 2018 10:15 pm

I assume this question pertains only to combat and whether it's legal to make a weapon attack with a weapon wielded in a hand also using a shield? It would otherwise be quite bureaucratic to get into hand management of what you can/cannot hold per hand in the rules.
Jay Bouck
[ Jamis Mannfield ]
[ Jon Shoeman ] <Deceased>
Post Reply